Young Playwrights’ Theater

By teaching students to express themselves through the art of playwriting, YPT develops students' language skills, and empowers them with the creativity, confidence and critical thinking skills they need to succeed in school and beyond. YPT honors its students by involving them in a high-quality artistic process where they feel simultaneously respected and challenged and by engaging professional theater artists in producing student plays for the community. View more information on their Member Feature Page

AHFES In-School

In-School Playwriting Program
Presented by: Young Playwrights' Theatre

The In-School Playwriting Program integrates the art of playwriting into the classroom in order to enhance student literacy, creative expression and communication. Students explore playwriting, revision and performance with professional playwrights, actors, directors and teaching artists in the classroom.
Students learn the importance of language structure, grammar, spelling, and vocabulary choice as a means of clearly communicating their own thoughts, choices and imaginations to the world around them. During a carefully crafted series of standards-based, in-class workshops, students explore the mechanics of language, drama and self-expression, culminating in the creation of their own original play.
Length of Program: Each workshop is approximately an hour long. This program is offered as a series of 12 workshops over the course of 12 weeks (adaptable based on the needs and schedule of each school).
Discipline: Theatre
Curriculum Connections: English/ Language Arts
Grades: 3rd - 12th
Capacity: 30 students and at least one teacher

 for In-School Playwriting Program


Twitter Updates


Mailing: 975 F Street, NW
Location: 923 F Street, NW, #303
Washington, DC 20004
P: 202.470.6467

The DC Collaborative is a FY19 Service Organization grant recipient of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities.

The DC Collaborative is proud to receive a grant for its Collective Impact work supported in part by an award from the National Endowment for the Arts.